Wednesday, 14 December 2011

18th Screen Actors Guild Awards


The 18th Screen Actors Guild Awards had just announced its nominations and it's possibly an excellent insight to the Best Acting categories. Building on the multiple recognition in terms of wins and nominations, SAG nominated Melissa McCarthy under the Best Supporting Actress category. Looks like the comedy genre really does own its rewarding moments and will actually stand a chance to be taken seriously if performed well. It's good to see that the voters have a good sense of humour this award season.

Other interesting nominations include DiCaprio and some of the cast of "The Help". Previously undermined by the other hot favourites, would the SAG recognition help to propel them somewhat ahead in the race?

The nominations for the 18th Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards are as follow:

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture
"The Artist"
"Bridesmaids"
"The Descendants"
"The Help"
"Midnight in Paris"

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role
Demian Bichir, "A Better Life"
George Clooney, "The Descendants"
Leonardo DiCaprio, "J. Edgar"
Jean Dujardin, "The Artist"
Brad Pitt, "Moneyball"

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role
Glenn Close, "Albert Nobbs"
Viola Davis, "The Help"
Meryl Streep, "The Iron Lady"
Tilda Swinton, "We Need To Talk About Kevin"
Michelle Williams, "My Week With Marilyn"

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Kenneth Branagh, "My Week With Marilyn"
Armie Hammer, "J. Edgar"
Jonah Hill, "Moneyball"
Nick Nolte, "Warrior"
Christopher Plummer, "Beginners"


Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Bérénice Bejo, "The Artist"
Jessica Chastain, "The Help"
Melissa McCarthy, "Bridesmaids"
Janet McTeer, "Albert Nobbs"
Octavia Spencer, "The Help"

The 18th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be taking place on Sunday, Jan. 29, 2012, at 8 p.m. (ET), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT) and 5 p.m. (PT) from the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles.


0 comments:

Post a Comment

Search SON:sation